Research Essay:The role of urban lettering in the recognition of place, a case study of Bristol

blog(Bristol Urban Lettering. Image by Grazia Campanella)

Yesterday I handed in my research essay. It includes a photographic documentation about my typographic enquiry, started few months ago, which purpose was to better know the city of Bristol and its spirit.

My learning objectives were:

  • Explore the typographic landscape, in order to understand how it contributed to the construction and preservation of the sense of place
  • Investigate the role of urban lettering as a form of multiculturalism or resistance against the cultural homogenisation

This research as increased my interest for urban typography; for this reason I intend to continue my urban enquiry !

Leave a Reply

